Restaurant Review – The Pub in Pennsauken, NJ (Redux)

This past weekend my Dad celebrated his 39th birthday. Yes, the man fathered and raised me and yet he’s younger than I am…so he claims. Maybe he’s got some Benjamin Button thing going on. At any rate, he invited me along with a group of friends to celebrate at The Pub in Pennsauken. I’ve had numerous great dining experiences there. How could I possibly resist? Oh, and it was his birthday.

Diners received unlimited access to the salad bar with dinner, in addition to complimentary bread. For those into salad bars: The Pub set the gold standard. In addition to a delicious Caesar Salad, I added some cottage cheese and carrots to my plate. They prepared the later with raisins. I never would’ve thought to combine a fruit and a vegetable in this way. It tasted outstanding. I would’ve returned for more, but we also ordered appetizers.

Since our party consisted of six people, we ordered two of them. We got the French Fried Zucchini and the Fried Fresh Mushrooms. (The both cost $5.50 respectively.) They could’ve served as meals in themselves. I’ve had Fried Mushrooms at various pizza places over the years. I’d rank The Pub’s as the best. The mushrooms tasted unexpectedly fresh. I even ate them without the sauce and found them savory. I give the chef a lot of credit: he made something as bland as mushrooms flavorful. I had seconds on the zucchini. My dining companions raved about their quality, also.

Then our server brought out our dinners. All the food on the table reminded me of the Feast of Trimalchio scene in Fellini’s Satyricon.  Several in my group ordered the Prime Rib. While it came in at a hefty $29.99, both the portion and quality justified the price. When placed on the table it reminded me of the Ol’ 96er in the John Candy/Dan Aykroyd film The Great Outdoors. Unlike Candy’s character, no one finished this hunk of meat. For the record, my dog did finish off the leftovers. She’s a fussy eater, too.

There’s an old saw that whenever you dine at a steakhouse, someone always orders seafood. That person is usually me. So why buck tradition? I ordered the Hot Seafood Platter. The menu described it as, “Golden brown fried gulf shrimp, seafood salad, broiled fish of the day, deviled clam, tender bay scallops and shrimp stuffed with crabmeat.” It also come with a steep price tag at $29.99. Still, the only word that adequately described this meal was awesome.  When looking at the plate I worried that the population of the world’s oceans must have dipped a few per cent since I ordered it. The portions and quality, again, were phenomenal. I thought the seafood salad a nice addition. I’ve never had a seafood combo that included one. I give The Pub kudos for creativity on this one, also.

I’ve often written that I like it when customers can view the kitchen. The Pub took this to another level. They kept the lights low in the dining area. As one would expect, they illuminated the kitchen is more brightly. In spite of the main dining room’s size, one’s eyes became drawn to the kitchen. The management wanted customers to watch their food prepared. I thought that a very nice touch.

The Pub’s website reads, “Everything extravagant except the prices.” While I do find their prices higher than most, the quality and the portions justify them. Thanks to the quantities even my dog got to share in the quality fare: and she’s a tougher critic than I am. After my latest experience at The Pub, I can’t wait until my Dad’s 40th birthday party.

One comment

Leave a Reply

