Restaurant Review – Firebirds Wood Fired Grill in Moorestown, NJ

I thought very hard about how to spend my birthday this past April 19th. After much contemplation I decided to commemorate it the same way I pass most evenings these days. I opted for dinner at a fine dining establishment. Afterwards, I’d conclude my evening by blogging about how the restaurant failed to meet my expectations. (Before anyone asks: the answer is no. John Belushi did not pattern his ‘party animal’ character in the movie Animal House after me. I understand that is a common misconception.) On this occasion I learned the meaning of irony. I was disappointed by not being disappointed.

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill delivered an outstanding dining experience. The place made a great first impression. The ambiance impressed me. They arranged the glasses in the racks behind the bar by color. The bartender placed the reds together, the blues in the same spot, then the golden ones, and so on. While I’m color blind, I still enjoyed the visual effect.

The hostess seated my party between the bar and the kitchen. Talk about the perfect location! I always applaud a restaurant that allows patrons a clear view into the kitchen. A recent issue of Columbia University’s Journal of International Affairs focused on global food security. It’s a clear indication the staff earned the management’s confidence to let the public watch them prepare meals. That’s a good thing.

My dining companions and I commenced our dining experience with an appetizer. We ordered the Lobster Spinach Queso. The menu described it as, “lobster, baby spinach, tomatoes, pepper jack cheese, tortilla chips. For $12.25 all three of the people in my party ate good portions of it. We all found the dip and the chips savory. The latter came in three varieties: a red one, a black one and a traditional style. There are only so many ways to flavor tortilla chips, but I did detect subtle differences in the variety.

Then came the main course. As this evening marked my reaching the quarter century mark (again), I thought about my mortality. What better time to leave my comfort zone and try something I’d never had before? While not exactly on my ‘bucket list’ I opted for the Braised Tenderloin Pasta. The menu described it as, “cavatappi, fresh spinach, red peppers, and sic green chile cheese sauce.” The menu also included a “limited availability” disclaimer next to the name. On the evening I dined at Firebirds, they had it.

I’m not a big meat eater, but I really liked this dish. The combination of the steak and the pasta created a very distinct taste. I’ve never feasted on anything like it before. While pricey at $17.95, I received a great portion. I even took some home with me. I can’t remember dining out and not finishing a meal in recent months. I give Firebirds a lot of credit: they give customers their money’s worth.

On this dining excursion I did something else I don’t usually do. I ordered desert. As I’m health conscious–not because I’m getting old, mind you—I settled on the Flourless Chocolate Cake. I’ve had flourless pastries before and liked them. This cake was no exception. It didn’t taste as sweet as traditional fare, but it suits my tastes. I thought it a bit pricey at $7.75, but since it was my birthday, they gave it to me for free. I liked the personal customer service touch.  I’ll have to find out when my next birthday is so I can get more free stuff.

I didn’t like the lack of complimentary bread with dinner. I’ve noticed this at other places I’ve dined recently, also. I understand that to conserve water, servers only provide it upon request. Is there some kind of wheat crisis I’m unaware of? It seems odd to me that suddenly few places give customers bread with dinner.

I’d also point out to readers that Firebirds meals are rather pricey. I’d recommend reviewing the menu on-line prior to dining there. As I wrote above, I felt the quality and the portions I received justified the cost. In the interest of full disclosure I should point out that my Dad and stepmom treated me for my birthday. If I had paid out of my own pocket, I’m sure my comments would be the same. I did want to let readers know, though.

My dining experience at Firebirds made for the best 25th birthday I’ve had in years. I enjoyed their delicious offerings. I’ve attended some infamous dinner outings over the last several months. I’m very thankful to Firebird’s Wood Fired Grill for providing an excellent one on my birthday. That wish I made when I blew out the candle last year finally came true.

One comment

Leave a Reply

