Restaurant Review – Dickey’s Barbecue Pit in Siloam Springs, AR

Nobody, and I mean nobody, can host a barbecue like a Southerner. They’re so good at it, that anytime one of us Yankees says we’re having one, we debase the term. I was ecstatic when I came across Dickey’s Barbecue Pit during my sojourn to Northwest Arkansas. Their culinary skills did Dixie proud.

My group had been flying all day. Most of us hadn’t eaten anything in at least nine hours. When we rolled into Dickey’s we couldn’t have found a more perfect place at the most opportune time.

The staff took courtesy to a whole new level. We arrived within an hour of closing. However, they were so attentive and friendly that I felt like they genuinely loved their customers. By my estimate, the two team members on shift prepared meals for six people in close to ten minutes.

There’s only one word to describe my meal: outstanding. Dickey’s offered a plethora of sandwiches, platters and salads. They made my choice pretty difficult. Since I felt so hungry I treated myself to the Three Meat Plate. Dickey’s presented eight different options that would appeal to just about any carnivore. The choices included Pulled Pork, Beef Brisket, Barbecue Honey Ham, Spicy Cheddar Sausage, Polish Sausage, Pork Ribs, Turkey Breast, and Chicken. I dined on the Turkey, Pork Ribs and Spicy Cheddar Sausage. I’d never tried anything like the latter before. The chef came up with a unique twist on it. The best part: it tasted fantastic! All of the meats did.

A number of people in my group raved about the brisket. It received the most positive reviews. I had the chance to try it and concurred.

My platter came with two sides. Dickey’s offered twelve different ones, so once again I struggled with the selection. Who would have thought that being a food critic could entail such hard decision making on occasion? After evaluating the menu, I complimented my meal with the Caesar Salad and the Barbecue Beans. Like the sausage, the latter possessed a zesty flavor, but not so hot that I couldn’t enjoy the meal. The preparers deserve great credit for getting the seasoning just right.

And the best part: this dinner cost only $11.50! People who read my column know that I dine out pretty regularly. Dickey’s made my shortlist of establishments offering the best value for the price.

I drank an iced tea with my meal. It came with a “Big Yellow Cup” that customers may keep as a souvenir. That’s a pretty good perk for $2.25.

As much as I enjoyed this dining experience, Dickey’s offered even more. On the evening I ate there, they provided FREE ice cream for consumers. You read that right. In addition to the outstanding value I got for my dinner, they furnished a gratis desert. This place took Southern hospitality to a whole new level!

Whenever I review a restaurant I make every effort to be balanced. With that acknowledgement, I can’t offer Dickey’s any constructive feedback for improvement. On the issues of price, service and quality, they turned in a superlative performance. Even while writing this I could taste the barbecue sauce. Is opening a franchise in the Philadelphia area out of the question?

One comment

Leave a Reply

