Review of Rodizio Grill: The Brazilian Steakhouse

Dinner at Rodizio Grill: The Brazilian Steakhouse in Voorhees, NJ isn’t as much a meal as an experience. I’ve attended numerous dinner engagements, but I’ve never had the pleasure of anything quite like this. Eating at this establishment made Thanksgiving Dinner seem like an appetizer and Fellini’s depiction of the Feast of Trimalchio appear like a kid’s meal!

The evening began as the server placed a block on our table. On one side it was green on the other red. When the green side showed servers came around non-stop with skewers full of meat. They explained what type of food they had. Customers had the option of taking or passing on it. If they accepted the server would either slice the meat or just place it on the customer’s plate. Talk about dining on-demand!

Due to lack of room on my plate I had to turn down foods I was anxious to try. I didn’t need to worry, though. Servers returned later with the same cuisine. I liked this. It gave everyone in my group the opportunity to sample the entire menu.  

One of the servers explained that if my group needed a respite, to put the red side of the block up. Servers wouldn’t come to our table until we flipped it over to green. I’ll have to take their word for it. The evening I attended with the Saturday Dining in Cherry Hill group, the green side stayed up the whole time. (In the interest of full disclosure I should add that the block was in front of me the entire evening.)  

I’ve been to restaurants that had multiple-course meals, but the Rodizio Grill pushed the envelope. I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the variety of entrees I got to sample at a single dinner. Because of the myriad fare I may be missing a few, but here it goes. To the best of my recollection they brought out Marinated Pork, Ham, Top Sirloin, Lamb, and a very tasty Brazilian Sausage. For us fowl fans the meal included Sweet and Sour Chicken, Marinated Chicken, and Turkey Wrapped in Bacon. At the end of the evening they threw in something for us seafood lovers: Catfish with a delicious Passion Fruit Sauce. And all this PLUS an unlimited salad bar.

Another interesting delicacy the servers brought out was a Fresh Glazed and Grilled Pineapple. The menu billed it as “a guest favorite” and it lived up to its reputation with my party. We requested they bring it out several times and the servers acceded to our wishes.

After repeated rounds of indulging in entrees, our group declared “checkmate” so I turned the block on its side. Servers then provided us with a desert menu. Readers know I received a full meal when I write that I didn’t have room to partake in it.

If you’re interested in an original dining experience, the Rodizio Grill is the place to go. It’s that unique establishment in that while dinner is a little pricey, I doubt anyone walks out of there feeling like he/she didn’t get his/her money’s worth. After sampling the unlimited portions, you’ll feel full–and spoiled–for days after eating there.

 

Leave a Reply

